Prelicensing

Canopy Real Estate Institute has temporarily suspended all in-person instruction due to COVID-19. Read more.

Online Prelicensing Classes

Online Prelicensing courses are offered as online synchronous courses, meaning the classes are held in real time.

Classes will be presented using Zoom technology. Download the Zoom app to your desktop or laptop. Click here for Zoom online support.

You can also chat live with the Zoom support team within your Zoom account, or call 1-888-799-9666 ext. 2.

Click here for the complete list of technical requirements to take an online course.

Where to buy the textbook

The required textbook for all courses that begin after Oct. 1, 2020: North Carolina Real Estate Principles & Practices, 8th Edition. 

Buy the printed textbook

Registered Canopy Real Estate Institute students can call the Realtor® Store at 704-940-3126 to place their order.

Early-bird pricing is available!

Take advantage of our early-bird pricing! Save $40 by registering at least five days before classes begin.

Free virtual tutoring sessions

Canopy Real Estate Institute offers virtual office hours (tutoring) four hours every week. Sessions are open format (drop in) and staffed by licensed instructors. Canopy Real Estate Institute Prelicensing students are able to just drop in with questions or to receive help with a specific topic.  

Free post-course study halls

These formal review sessions are held after you complete the Prelicensing program. The sessions focus on license law as well as current areas that students struggle with on the state exam.

Annual School Performance Report from the North Carolina Real Estate Commission

For the reporting period July 2019-March 2020 license year, Canopy Real Estate Institute had a performance report of 66%.  This performance data represents first-time examination candidates taking the "Combined" exam (both National and State sections) within 30 days of completing the Prelicensing course at Canopy Real Estate Institute. The cumulative performance for all private real estate schools during this reporting period was 62%.

For the reporting period July 2019-June 2020 license year, Canopy Real Estate Institute had a performance report of 62%.  This performance data represents first-time examination candidates taking the "Combined" exam (both National and State sections) within 30 days of completing the Prelicensing course at Canopy Real Estate Institute. The cumulative performance for all private real estate schools during this reporting period was 61%.

Getting started 

The real estate Broker Prelicensing course is your first step to obtaining your real estate license.

Students must successfully complete a Broker Prelicensing course and pass both portions (state and national) of the licensing exam to obtain a North Carolina real estate license.

Learn more by visiting our Frequently Asked Questions page.

Canopy Real Estate Institute Policies and Procedures Disclosure

Attendance requirements

Broker Prelicensing students must attend a minimum of 90 percent of all scheduled classroom hours. Broker Prelicensing students cannot miss more than 8 hours of scheduled classroom hours.

Students cannot miss the first scheduled Broker Prelicensing class. Students missing the first scheduled Prelicensing class will be required to reschedule to another Prelicensing course.

These requirements apply for course repeats as well.

Students cannot make up missed time due to lateness or absences.  Please ensure that you can attend 90 percent of class hours at a minimum before registering for a class.

Required Textbook

The required textbook for the class is North Carolina Real Estate Principles & Practices, 8th Edition. 

You may purchase a printed version of the textbook. Please ensure that you get the 8th Edition.

State testing information

View the exam candidate bulletin for the North Carolina license examination.

After you are licensed

When you first obtain your real estate license it will be issued on "provisional" status.

To remove this “provisional” status, you need to complete three 30-hour Postlicensing courses within three years of your license issue date.

You must take at least one 30-hour Postlicensing class each year to keep your license status active.

You can complete all three 30-hour Postlicensing classes within the first year if you choose to do so, but you can only take one course at a time.