Canopy Real Estate Institute has suspended all in-person instruction. Read more.
North Carolina Postlicensing Requirements
Beginning July 1, 2020, a provisional broker must complete all 90-hours (all three courses) of the postlicensing education program within 18 months of initial licensure to maintain an active license status.
As of July 1, 2020, a provisional broker license is required for any student enrolling in a postlicensing course.
A provisional broker’s license will be placed on inactive status if the provisional broker fails to complete postlicensing courses in the required timeframe.
The three 30-hour postlicensing courses are:
- Broker Relationships and Responsibilities (301)
- Contracts and Closing (302)
- North Carolina Law, Rules and Legal Concepts (303)
Note: Students are not required to take the three 30-hour courses in any particular order.
Online postlicensing courses are offered as online synchronous courses, meaning the classes are held in real time.
- Classes will be presented using Zoom technology. Download the Zoom app to your desktop or laptop. Click here for Zoom online support.
- You can also chat live with the Zoom support team within your Zoom account, or call 1-888-799-9666 ext. 2.
- Click here for the complete list of technical requirements to take an online course.
Required textbook (not included in class tuition)
N.C. Real Estate Commission Manual (Dark blue cover/released March 2021) or digital North Carolina Real Estate Manual
Broker Postlicensing students must attend a minimum of 90 percent (27 hours for each class) of all scheduled classroom hours.
For each 30-hour Broker Postlicensing course, students cannot miss more than three hours of scheduled classroom hours (Commission Rule 58H. 0210 (b)). This requirement applies for course repeats as well.
The 30-hour postlicensing courses cost $235 each. Members of Canopy Realtor® Association and Canopy MLS receive a $20 discount ($215 member price).